Hospitality Leaders Hospitality Leaders Menu 0
Google Translate
Hospitality Industry News

IOC Session votes on new members and Executive Board positions

Profile Photo By: H L
July 26, 2012

IOC Session votes on new members and Executive Board positions

New IOC members
The IOC Session, which is the general meeting of the members of the IOC and its supreme decision-making body, is composed of a maximum of 115 members, who are individual members, active athletes or representatives of International Federations (IFs) and National Olympic Committees (NOCs).

The Session elected the following new members:
– Aisha Garad Ali (Djibouti, linked to function within an NOC),
– Pierre-Olivier Beckers (Belgium, linked to function within an NOC),
– Tsunekazu Takeda (Japan, individual),
– Frank Fredericks (Namibia, individual), and
– Lingwei Li (China, individual).

Executive Board positions
Nawal El Moutawakel and Craig Reedie, who have been Executive Board members since 2008 and 2009 respectively, were elected as IOC Vice-Presidents.

New members elected to the Executive Board include Juan Antonio Samaranch, Sergey Bubka and Willi Kaltschmitt.

As is traditional, four positions on the Executive Board are closely linked to the representation of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF), the Association of International Winter Sports Federations (AIOWF), the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) and the IOC Athletes? Commission. The following four IOC members were elected or re-elected to the Executive Board:

– Ching Kuo Wu (ASOIF)
– Ren? Fasel (re-elected, AIOWF)
– Patrick Hickey (ANOC)
– Claudia Bokel (Chair of the IOC Athletes? Commission)

Outgoing Executive Board members are former Vice-Presidents Zaiqing Yu and Mario Pescante as well as Denis Oswald, Mario V?zquez-Ra?a, Frank Fredericks and Richard Carri?n.

Honorary Members
Francisco Elizalde, Alpha Ibrahim Diallo and Carlos Nuzman, whose IOC membership will terminate at the end of 2012 due to the age limit, were appointed as Honorary Members as of 1 January 2013. They have all served as IOC members for over 10 years.

The IOC Session was meeting in London ahead of the opening of the 2012 Olympic Games.


Source: International Olympic Committee


Uneingeschränkter Zugang

Erhalten Sie vollen Zugang zu Nachrichten aus Hotellerie und Gastgewerbe.

Jetzt anmelden. Kostenlos.
Oder importieren Sie Ihre Angaben aus